July 27, 2013

  • free

    The kids got home from camp after midnight on Thursday morning.  Their father hadn’t opted to see them before they left, and he didn’t meet them at the airport.  He shot me a text one evening, and he called once.  Talking to him is always uncomfortable, but I suffer through it.  I tell myself that once the kids are 18 I won’t have to deal with him.  I will let the kids decide if they want him at significant events.  I wonder if it will be weird not seeing him at graduations, engagement parties, holidays, but I’m relieved.  He can go hang out with his friends.  He’s become somewhat of a joke.  My oldest son told me that some of the girls at his high school know his dad from all the parties.  They call him by an embarrassingly immature nickname.  My son thinks it’s rather sad, but I was horrified.  Who gets cozy with 16 year old girls at parties?  One of the girls said she sat on his lap.  What kind of mother lets her underage daughter flirt it up with a 49 year old man?  I told my son to steer clear of the girls, and to watch his back if his dad dragged him off to a party.  My youngest attended one party with his dad, “Never saw so many drunks in my life.  The kids all sneak beer and smoke pot or steal pills out of the medicine cabinet.  I didn’t, but they didn’t give me a hard time about it.  I almost called you, mom.”  I shuddered.   

    I don’t think about D at all.

    I’m too busy.  Between working, hanging with the kids, and trying to get the closets and house organized, I have no time, and that suits me just fine.  There are two guys who are flirting with me on the social networking side.  One is an old friend from the neighborhood, still handsome, but clearly just looking to hook up.  The other is a guy I’ve known since we took WoodBadge together in 2007.  He’s going through a divorce.  He lives an hour north of me, and rides a candy apple red Harley.  He’s a nice guy, but I’d be a rebound. That’s not something I want to be, but I tell myself that it’s a safe place for both of us.  We’re both good people, so maybe this will be a mild, nonthreatening foray into dating.  I’m not going to lie and think that it’s a favor to him.  I can certainly use some time with a nice person who isn’t running around with a bunch of classless clowns.

    I really hope he isn’t running around with a bunch of classless clowns.

    The ironic thing: In the circles I socialize in, I’m well-liked for my sense of humor.  I don’t have patience for the kind of people D socialized with.  I have to give people a chance, but I’m wary.  

    I dropped the air compressor off at D’s.  I drove over, left the car running, hopped out with bag in hand.  I trotted over to his bushes and tucked the bag behind them.  His music blasted through the door, so I knew he was home.  I trotted away, with my heart hammering in my chest, suddenly afraid that he’d throw the front door open and yell at me.  I drove a mile before I shot a text to him, telling him that the compressor was in the bushes.  He replied, in caps for emphasis, “TOLD YA TO KEEP IT.  bought new one at target.  Oh Well”.  I didn’t respond, because it looked like he was looking for a fight.  I slipped my phone back into my bag.  

    Then I left him alone.  He took his ex-wife to a Dave Matthews Band concert.  He gushed on the social networking page, much like he did after the motorcycle trip.  On a lark, I navigated to her page.  She had plenty of gushing to do herself.  D had taken her out to dinner on the anniversary of their wedding.  They’ve been divorced for 14 years.  Apparently, he has always taken her out on their old anniversary.  Her sister commented that D still loved her.  I had to agree.

    It made it easy to completely disengage and walk away.

    When I drive, I remind myself what he said in his second to last email.  The damning one – that outlined all my faults and prophesied that I’d never be “the one” for anyone, because I was so flawed.  It was a spear straight through my heart.  I had responded to that one, completely neutral and without malice.  I’d closed it with the sentence, “I will leave you alone.”  He had responded with two words, “Yep.  Okay”, sarcastic and disbelieving.  

    I let him have the last word.  I’m walking around with a spear through my heart, so there’s no fight in me anymore.  Of course, there is no reason to fight.  We’re done.  He’s always been tied to his ex wife, so that’s reason enough to run.  

    It troubles me wondering if he’s right about me being so flawed.  That’s the part I have the most difficulty with.  What if he’s right?  

    I’m back to that dark, sad place, like being adrift in the farthest point out to sea.  No hope of rescue, and wondering if it’s time to give up.  

    Angel me led me away, “You need to find yourself again…”

    I know.  I wrapped both hands around the spear, and pulled it free.  Blood flowed dark and thick, coating my hands.  I looked up at Angel me, and she reached  for the spear.  I sighed as I studied my bloody hands, “I can’t die.”  She shook her head, “You may feel like you will, but you aren’t leaving this life yet.  Go wash your hands.”  The hole closed in my chest, leaving the heart intact, but fragile. 

    D still visits my page.  I steer clear of his page.  Devil me kisses the top of my head, “You are doing the right thing.”  I know I am.

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *